davegster

Pie chart label changes in 2.1.6

Hi all,

I've just been testing the 2.1.6 release before upgrading our production system (currently using 2.1.5) and noticed that our pie charts no longer render labels.

I did note in the 2.1.6 release notes that the pie chart label positioning code had been rewritten, and that positioning of pie chart labels had been discussed before (http://highslide.com/forum/viewtopic.ph ... 85&p=49211), though I'm a relative novice when I comes to delving into the Highcharts library code.

I've attached some screenshots, showing how the labels were rendered under 2.1.5, then how they are no longer rendering under 2.1.6 - exact same chart code is used, the only difference being the change in library version. I did try adjusting the 'distance' parameter, and found that once it gets to about 80, some of the labels start to show up. If I keep increasing that distance to 100+ more labels start to show (some are still missing) but they start to render outside of the visible area for the chart.

Any thoughts/suggestions as to what options I can play with to keep the labels as close to how they were rendered in 2.1.5?

Cheers
Dave
Attachments
Pie chart using 2.1.6 and datalabel distance set to 80
Pie chart using 2.1.6 and datalabel distance set to 80
pie-2.1.6-distance-80.PNG (37.12 KiB) Viewed 7301 times
Same pie chart code using 2.1.6
Same pie chart code using 2.1.6
pie-2.1.6.PNG (35.06 KiB) Viewed 7301 times
Pie chart using 2.1.5
Pie chart using 2.1.5
pie-2.1.5.PNG (40.26 KiB) Viewed 7304 times
calousy

Re: Pie chart label changes in 2.1.6

Hi,
I can confirm this issue. It seems the more pie pieces you have the better is the chance the labels are shown. E.g. if i have 2 pieces, it's never shown, with 7 it is.
I did not manipulate the distance.
TioFu