jsong
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 5:08 pm

Is there a limit 1000 for the series length

I encountered an odd issue.

To draw a graph (3 series, all areas), the graph is drawn correctly when the series length is less than 1000. But an empty box will be drawn if the series length is greater than 1000.

Is there a limit 1000 for the series length?

Actually, the same data works well for old version of highcharts. It just happens for highcharts 2.2.1.
Fusher
Posts: 7912
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 10:16 am

Re: Is there a limit 1000 for the series length

Yes, it's new option for better performance since version 2.2 called turboThreshold : http://www.highcharts.com/ref/#plotOpti ... oThreshold
Note, that affects only to series with object as data points.
Paweł Fus
Highcharts Developer
raoul
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 2:57 pm

Re: Is there a limit 1000 for the series length

I stumbled over the same issue. I followed the instructions under plotOptions -> series -> turboThreshold. It says: When a series contains a data array that is longer than this, only one dimensional arrays of numbers, or two dimensional arrays with x and y values are allowed Before I used an Object for data.

The docs also says, Also, only the first point is tested, and the rest are assumed to be the same format So what is better, to have a lower or higher number for the turboThreshold. I am expecting more than 10.000 data-points. Is there an effect at all, when I change the threshold? I couldn't recognize one...

Is there a way to handle 10.000 to 100.000 data points (as object)?

Thanks so far
Fusher
Posts: 7912
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 10:16 am

Re: Is there a limit 1000 for the series length

To handle more data points as objectc set higher turboThreshold, as you said. You may not feel the speed boost but there is different checking, and adding points. AFAIK setting higher turboThreshold than you need doesn't lower the chart performance.
Paweł Fus
Highcharts Developer
raoul
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 2:57 pm

Re: Is there a limit 1000 for the series length

alright, so the turboThreshold should be the value of the item size...
Fusher
Posts: 7912
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 10:16 am

Re: Is there a limit 1000 for the series length

You mean length of the series? If yes - you are right :)
Paweł Fus
Highcharts Developer
shoekell
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2014 10:08 pm

Re: Is there a limit 1000 for the series length

I am running into a similar problem. I have a line graph that will not render once data gets above 3165 points, no matter what I set the turboThreshold to. At first, it was just like the documentation said. It would not render if over 1000 points. I changed the turboThreshold to 10000 and now it will not render if over 3165.
Fusher
Posts: 7912
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 10:16 am

Re: Is there a limit 1000 for the series length

Do you have any errors in js console? Do you have 3.0.10 version? And could you recreate issue on jsfiddle?
Paweł Fus
Highcharts Developer
yitu
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2014 7:15 pm

Re: Is there a limit 1000 for the series length

Hi, shoekell,
I have the same issue. Mine doesn't render when the point number is over 3300.
Any chance you have the answer?
Fusher
Posts: 7912
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 10:16 am

Re: Is there a limit 1000 for the series length

Any errors in console? Could you create simple test case to see that issue live?
Paweł Fus
Highcharts Developer
mantukar1
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2019 5:17 am

Re: Is there a limit 1000 for the series length

Hi,
I am using stockchart . but while i am doing data array more than 1000, series is not coming. but it is working upto 1000 data array, my data array consists of x and y both like data array [1,2.3], I am using angular 7.

Create(seriesOptions)
{
this.stock = new StockChart({
rangeSelector: {
buttons: [{
count: 1,
type: 'minute',
text: '1M'
}, {
count: 5,
type: 'minute',
text: '5M'
}, {
type: 'all',
text: 'All'
}],
inputEnabled: false,
selected: 0
},

// rangeSelector: {
// selected: 0
// },

yAxis: {
// labels: {
// formatter: function () {
// debugger;
// return (this.value > 0 ? ' + ' : '') + this.value + '%';
// }
// },
scrollbar: {
enabled: true,
},
// plotLines: [{
// value: 0,
// width: 2,
// color: 'silver'
// }]
},

plotOptions: {
series: {
// compare: 'percent',
// showInNavigator: true
}
},

tooltip: {
// pointFormat: '<span style="color:{series.color}">{series.name}</span>: <b>{point.y}</b> ({point.change}%)<br/>',
//valueDecimals: 0,
//split: true
},

series: this.seriesOptions


});

}

public seriesOptions = []
for (var p=0;p<tempdata.length;p++){

data.push([
tempdata[p].datetime,
tempdata[p].pfSealwtr
]);

}
this.seriesOptions.push( {
name: "pfSealwtr",
data: data
});
bastss
Site Admin
Posts: 1206
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2018 10:59 am

Re: Is there a limit 1000 for the series length

Hello mantukar1!

Could you reproduce your chart with your data on this template? Link - https://jsfiddle.net/BlackLabel/w9hznsey/ It could be very helpful if I will see how your data is created.

Best regards!
Sebastian Wędzel,
Highcharts Developer

Return to “Highcharts Usage”