shinewang
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2010 10:40 am

can i have mutiple highcharts object

i was trying to resize the canvas to suit my window, while i can not find a suitable function to use ,i have to delete the highchart object,
and create it again with new size options.

it works well on FF

but when i use IE(7,8), column chart, it may report an error: null is empty or not an object

i trace it, and find

this.ctx = cvs.getContext('2d');can not be call correctly

(hightchart.src.js line: 1106)

i have tried what i can try.but the issue can not be resolved.

so it maybe a bug ?
torstein.honsi
Site Admin
Posts: 9215
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 11:22 am
Location: Vik i Sogn, Norway

Re: can i have mutiple highcharts object

Can we see your page live? Is it working at all in IE, or does it just fail when you try to resize?
Torstein Hønsi
CTO, Founder
Highsoft
tolich
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 7:55 pm

Re: can i have mutiple highcharts object

Hi
shinewang wrote: this.ctx = cvs.getContext('2d');can not be call correctly

(hightchart.src.js line: 1106)
IE 8
i have this problem too

look
http://demo.mybill.net.ua/admin
manager/123
torstein.honsi
Site Admin
Posts: 9215
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 11:22 am
Location: Vik i Sogn, Norway

Re: can i have mutiple highcharts object

Are you able to isolate the problem in a simple example? I tried at http://highcharts.com/cases/topic6153.htm, but the error doesn't occur.

Are you using jQuery as the base framework?
Torstein Hønsi
CTO, Founder
Highsoft
tolich
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 7:55 pm

Re: can i have mutiple highcharts object

Attachments
2010-05-10_17-39_error demo.jpg
2010-05-10_17-39_error demo.jpg (70.6 KiB) Viewed 4888 times
torstein.honsi
Site Admin
Posts: 9215
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 11:22 am
Location: Vik i Sogn, Norway

Re: can i have mutiple highcharts object

If you aren't able to reproduce the bug outside Ext JS, it is likely that it is a bug in the Ext JS plugin. Try asking in the forum for the plugin and see if anyone knows of an error in the adapter.
Torstein Hønsi
CTO, Founder
Highsoft
tolich
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 7:55 pm

Re: can i have mutiple highcharts object

ok. thanks
theGecko
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2010 4:54 pm

Re: can i have mutiple highcharts object

I can confirm this is still an issue even using jQuery.

To see the problem in IE, simply add this line at the end of your jQuery document ready function:

$(window).resize(resize);

I look forward to a fix :D

Kind regards,

Rob
theGecko
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2010 4:54 pm

Re: can i have mutiple highcharts object

I've found a fix for this which works for me (in IE8 at least).

Comment out line 1103:

// cvs = doc.getElementById(cvs.id);

Cheers,

Rob

Return to “Highcharts Usage”