rjivan
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 5:35 pm
Location: Washington, D.C

Chart issue in IE8 VMLRenderer

I have been getting spradic errrors in IE8 when rendered a chart. The error I get is

Code: Select all

Message: Unspecified error.
Line: 88
Char: 448
Code: 0
URI: http://localhost/highcharts/2.0.1/js/highcharts.js?a
Tracking this in the uncompressed code I see the error is coming from the function VMLRenderer on line 2696

Code: Select all

 if (!doc.namespaces.hcv)

I seems like doc.namespaces has not been defined when this function was invoked. I found this post on the openlayers group
Microsoft's documentation does not say when
document.namespaces is ready, but all our OpenLayers examples use an
init function, which is bound to document.onload, because we know that
document.namespaces is available at the time document.onload is fired.
Is this something that can be addressed fairly quickly?

Thanks
User avatar
not
Posts: 342
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 2:01 pm

Re: Chart issue in IE8 VMLRenderer

As it is an issue of highcharts internals, we have to wait for Torstein to fix it. He's off-line till Monday.
There are many problems with VMLRenderer all the time. I'm sure we all know what the dealing with JavaScript in IE means for developers :)
Thanks for reporting, anyway :)
Maciej Piecha,
ex Highcharts Support Team
rjivan
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 5:35 pm
Location: Washington, D.C

Re: Chart issue in IE8 VMLRenderer

FYI..
Adding

Code: Select all

xmlns:v=urn:schemas-microsoft-com:vml
to the HTML tag seems to have fixed the issue. For exampe

Code: Select all

<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" xmlns:v=urn:schemas-microsoft-com:vml xml:lang="en" lang="en"> 
twhid
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 6:57 pm

Re: Chart issue in IE8 VMLRenderer

Thanks for this fix.
ptyork
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2010 6:52 pm

Re: Chart issue in IE8 VMLRenderer

Wow, great catch on the fix. I hope there's a "better" fix forthcoming, but for now, this is great. Thanks!
torstein.honsi
Site Admin
Posts: 9215
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 11:22 am
Location: Vik i Sogn, Norway

Re: Chart issue in IE8 VMLRenderer

Thanks for the report and the workaroun. Another workaround is to add the chart on window.load. See http://github.com/highslide-software/hi ... /#issue/34.
Torstein Hønsi
CTO, Founder
Highsoft

Return to “Highcharts Usage”