lamarant

Change symbol for a single point in a Scatter Chart?

Hi, I am new to HighCharts. Is there any way to change the symbol for a single data point on a scatter chart? EG: my series uses 'square' as its symbol. If the data value is > 10, I want the symbol to change to a png image that I've created.

possible?
torstein.honsi
Site Admin

Re: Change symbol for a single point in a Scatter Chart?

Yes. See http://jsfiddle.net/CAKQH/1008/. Set a url instead of the square in the example.
Torstein Hønsi
CTO, Founder
Highsoft
lamarant

Thanks Torstein...I got the symbol for a specific point to change to a graphic that set right in the data series:

Code: Select all

data: [
  {x:152,y:1,marker:{symbol: 'url(e.png)'}}, 
  [155, 2], 
  [172, 3], 
  [176, 4], 
  [182, 5], 
  [198, 6]
] 
Taking this a step further...

Is it possible for the symbol to be a letter that has the same color as the other points in the series?

Here is some background of what I am trying to achieve:

I have multiple series that need to be plotted on a scatter chart. Each series will be identified by it's own unique symbol and color (all handled perfectly in highcharts so far). Within each series, in addition to the X and Y values, I have third dimension that determines the type of point. This dimension can be represented by a letter (I will manually add a key to the chart that shows what each letter represents) but the color of the letter must match the color of the other points within its same series.

Ideally, an additional option for the "symbol" property would be "character" and the value could then be set to any character on the keyboard (or even an HTML character code if necessary) and the character would then inherit the color of the associated series.